Football Terms – National Football Conference

The NFC is the National Football Conference, which is one half of the modern National Football League.

The NFC contains most of the oldest teams in the NFL, and is the conference with the most history in pro football. The rival conference is the AFC, which is mainly made up of teams from the old American Football League, or AFL.

There are currently 16 teams in the NFC, including four divisions of four teams each. The division are given directional designations which are roughly (though not always accurately) assigned to teams in particular regions of the country. Therefore, you have a NFC North, a NFC East and so on.

Every year, six teams from the NFC qualify for the playoffs. The top four seeds are made up of the four division winners, determined by the team with the best record in the division. The other two playoff qualifiers are the NFC non-division winning teams with the best records.

NFC North

NFC South

NFC East

NFC West

The NFC has won 22 of 42 Super Bowls to date, while the rival AFC has won 20 NFL Championships.

Football Terms Starting With “N”