Football Blog  |  Football Sitemap

NFL Championship

Football Terms – NFL Title

The NFL Championship goes to the yearly winner of the to National Football League’s championship game: the Super Bowl. The term "NFL championship" has had several different meanings over the years.

From 1920 to 1932, the NFL Champion was the team with the best season record. There was no post-season, so the tema with the best regular season record in a round-robin format was the NFL Champion.

From 1933 until 1966, the NFL Champion was the winner of the NFL Playoffs. In the early phases of the playoffs, two teams with the best records met to decide the NFL Champion. In later years, the top four teams met to decide the champion in single-elimination contests.

Super Bowl Championships

From 1967 until the present, the NFL Champion has been considered the winner of the yearly Super Bowl. These teams are often called the World Champion or the Super Bowl Champion, though all three terms are synonymous these days. In actuality, there was an NFL Championship Game from 1967 until 1969, though the winners of these games would go on to represent the NFL in the Super Bowl.

After 1969, the NFL and AFL fully merged, and therefore the two leagues became known as the NFC and AFC. After 1969, it can be said that the NFL Champion is undoubtedly the winner of that year’s Super Bowl. This remains the case until this day.

Today, there are two title games which might be considered the successor to the NFL Championship Game: the Super Bowl and the NFC Championship Game.

Since most of the teams in the pre-merger NFL (besides the Browns, Colts and Steelers) remained in the National Football Conference, the NFC Championship Game most resembles the old NFL Championship Games of the 1930′s through 1960′s. The NFC Champion is therefore quite similar to the NFL Champion in the pre-Super Bowl era, though this team must win one more game to claim the world title.

Football Terms Starting With “N”

privacy policy